History Smashers: The Mayflower

November 10, 2019 - Comment

Myths! Lies! Secrets! Uncover the hidden truth behind history’s greatest stories with beloved educator/author Kate Messner! The fun mix of sidebars, illustrations, photos, and graphic panels make this perfect for fans of I Survived and Nathan Hale’s Hazardous Tales. In 1620, the Pilgrims left England to sail on the Mayflower to Plymouth Rock. Right? Well,

Myths! Lies! Secrets! Uncover the hidden truth behind history’s greatest stories with beloved educator/author Kate Messner! The fun mix of sidebars, illustrations, photos, and graphic panels make this perfect for fans of I Survived and Nathan Hale’s Hazardous Tales.

In 1620, the Pilgrims left England to sail on the Mayflower to Plymouth Rock. Right? Well, that’s not quite the real deal. And the First Thanksgiving? It didn’t exactly follow the script of the school play. From the time the Separatists first set sail (for Holland!) to their meeting Tisquantum (you may know him as Squanto) to King Philip’s War, acclaimed author Kate Messner smashes history by exploring the little-known and sometimes shameful truths behind the legends of the Mayflower and the First Thanksgiving.

Don’t miss History Smashers: Women’s Right to Vote!